William Hill Online Help Centre Close Detach
  • Change view:

William Hill Online Sports Betting - Live Football, Horse Racing, Greyhounds, Sports & Games

Craig Porter 26th Nov 2008 - 8:35

Golf World Cup history

The 2008 Omega Mission Hills World Cup is being held from 27 to 30 November featuring 28 world nations competing as two-player teams.

The inaugural golf World Cup was held in 1953 in Montreal, Canada. The Canada Cup and International Golf Championship, as it was initially known, was organised by John Jay Hopkins, after whom the current trophy is named, and featured just seven competing nations.

It achieved worldwide acclaim in 1956 when it was held at the Wentworth Club in Surrey, England, and has gone from strength to strength. Renamed the World Cup of Golf in 1967 it is now in its second year of a 12-year sponsorship deal and now known as the Omega Mission Hills World Cup. The Mission Hills Golf Club in China will host the tournament until 2018.

The teams will compete in a fourballs format on rounds one and three, playing in foursomes for the remaining two days.

View previous winners of the golf World Cup

View Omega Mission Hills World Cup golf betting odds from William Hill


View AllPlay Games


View AllCraig Porter