William Hill Online Help Centre Close Detach
  • Change view:

William Hill Online Sports Betting - Live Football, Horse Racing, Greyhounds, Sports & Games

Nic Ladds 7th Feb 2010 - 8:56

Jaws draws first blood

Colin Lloyd claimed victory in the opening Players Championship of 2010, defeating Wayne Jones 6-2 to win the Eddie Cox Memorial Trophy.

The world number eight claimed the £6,000 title in Gibraltar with a strong showing on Saturday, dropping only one leg in his opening two wins, against Dave Ahmet and Julian Sanchez before edging out Tony Eccles 6-5 writes David Allen of the PDC.

Peter Wright was whitewashed in the last 16, while Colin Osborne took out three 100-plus finishes in their quarter final, which Lloyd won 6-3.

He then defeated Mervyn King 6-2 in the semi-finals, having led 5-0, and repeated the scoreline against Jones in the decider.

Lloyd opened the final with a 180 and produced back-to-back 14-darters in leading 3-0, before hitting a 168 score to leave double 12 in the fourth.

Jones won two successive legs to pull back to 4-2, but paid for a missed dart at double top in the seventh as Lloyd posted double 12, before taking out 92 on double eight for victory.

"I'm really happy and it's a great result for me," said Lloyd. "I've had some very tough games throughout the day but I showed a lot of authority on the board.

"I'm relaxed and enjoying myself at the moment, and that's showing on the dartboard. I think I played well in the Players Championship finals in Purfleet last week and continued that in this event."

The tournament was named in memory of the late PDC official Eddie Cox, who died in December 2008, and Lloyd added: "It means a lot to me to win this tournament.

"Eddie was a close friend and we all miss him, so I'm honoured to be the champion of his event."

Jones' display earned him £3,000 and included a semi-final victory over world number two James Wade, as well as wins over Mark Dudbridge, Gary Anderson and Kevin Painter.

Wade had missed double 18 for a nine-dart finish during the early stages of the tournament,

New PDPA members Sam Allen and Peter Hudson both enjoyed successful debuts on the PDC Pro Tour, reaching the last 32, while Andy Smith's recovery from pleurisy continued with a quarter-final finish.

Eddie Cox Memorial Players Championship
Preliminary Round
George Ramos 6-0 Jonatan Aparicio
Miguel Tejero 6-2 Carsten Christensen
Mark Webster 6-4 Alex Roy
Amos Bosano 6-0 Valentin Del Olmo
Daniel Carmona 6-1 Alvaro Ruiz
Jimmy King 6-5 Glenn Cameron
Stuart Bousfield 6-3 Lars Erkelenz
Manolo Vilerio 6-4 Carlos Rodriguez
Tony Ayres 6-0 Raul Lazaro
Andree Welge 6-1 Justin Stagno
Marko Puls 6-4 John Part
Alan Kimberley 6-4 Jeremy Cruz
Nigel Heydon 6-0 Jim Leighton
Dave Ladley 6-0 Paul Nash
Henry Zapata 6-1 Daz Mawer
Colin Monk 6-1 Christian Robba
Chris Thompson 6-3 Steve Evans
Mark Hylton 6-3 David Bautista
Steve Grubb 6-4 Par Riihonen
Darren Latham 6-1 Salvadore Santiago
Darren Webster 6-1 Ian Eames
John MaGowan 6-1 Justin Broton
Didier De Vuyst 6-2 Francisco Arias
Michael Rosenauer 6-0 Tab Hunter
Mark Stephenson 6-0 David Rodriguez
Jann Hoffmann 6-1 Dawitahma Degefe
Adrian Gray 6-1 Enrique Soba
Rocco Maes 6-2 Jose Lopez
Geoff Whitworth 6-4 Alvaro Gonzalez
Tony Randell 6-3 Dave Honey
Alberto Rodriguez 6-3 Jose Agudo
Dave Askew 6-4 Bryan De Hoog
Juan Villalobos 6-4 Jose Gutierrez
Michael Barnard 6-3 Michael Kloenhammer

First Round
Tomas Seyler 6-4 Mark Walsh (1)
Antonio Estelerric 6-2 Oscar Sanchez
Gary Mawson 6-5 Kevin McDine (32)
George Ramos 6-5 Miguel Tejero
Jyhan Artut 6-4 Paul Nicholson (16)
Simon Craven 6-4 Daniel Carrero
Andy Smith (17) 6-5 Mark Webster
Amos Bosano v Daniel Carmona
James Wade (8) 6-2 Steve Maish
Maik Langendorf 6-3 Andy Relf
Co Stompe (25) 6-4 Michel Helder
Stuart Bousfield 6-0 Jimmy King
Ronnie Baxter (9) 6-0 Stefan Federico
Sam Allen 6-4 Dylan Duo
Jelle Klaasen (24) 6-0 Steve Randall
Tony Ayres 6-2 Manolo Vilerio
Gary Anderson (5) 6-1 Eric Segui
Carlos Martinez 6-1 Paul Wills
Peter Manley (28) 6-3 Anastasia Dobromyslova
Marko Puls Bye (Andree Welge timed out)
Wayne Jones (12) 6-4 Sebastijan Pecjak
Jon Archer 6-3 Agustin Hernandez
Kevin Painter (21) 6-1 Dyson Parody
Nigel Heydon 6-1 Alan Kimberley
Mario Masurka 6-5 Steve Beaton (4)
Chris Loudon 6-2 Nick Fullwell
Mark Dudbridge (29) 6-2 James Barton
Dave Ladley 6-4 Henry Zapata
Vincent van der Voort (13) 6-5 John Quantock
Joe Cullen 6-5 Justin Pipe
Terry Jenkins (20) 6-2 Ian MacFarlane
Chris Thompson 6-2 Colin Monk
Colin Osborne (2) 6-2 Jason Clark
Mark Lawrence 6-3 Martyn Turner
Matt Clark (31) 6-4 Keith Rooney
Steve Grubb 6-3 Mark Hylton
Alan Tabern (15) 6-2 Barrie Bates
George Federico 6-0 Gonzalo Medina
Andy Hamilton (18) 6-2 Darren Latham
Darren Webster 6-4 John MaGowan
Colin Lloyd (7) 6-1 Dave Ahmet
Julian Sanchez 6-0 Jairo Casado
Tony Eccles (26) 6-2 Louis Blundell
Michael Rosenauer 6-4 Didier De Vuyst
Robert Thornton (10) 6-4 Mareno Michels
Mark Jodrill 6-1 Mark Robinson
Peter Wright (23) 6-0 Michael Schmidt
Mark Stephenson 6-3 Jann Hoffmann
Wes Newton (6) 6-3 Darren Johnson
Mick McGowan 6-4 Richie Burnett
Peter Hudson 6-3 Steve Hine (27)
Adrian Gray 6-4 Rocco Maes
Jamie Caven (11) 6-1 Lee White
Kirk Shepherd 6-3 Dennis Smith
Denis Ovens (22) 6-5 Wayne Mardle
Tony Randell 6-0 Geoff Whitworth
Adrian Lewis (3) 6-0 Michael Fryendahl
Tony Blundell 6-1 Mike Roberts
Wayne Atwood 6-2 Steve Brown (30)
Dave Askew 6-1 Alberto Rodriguez
Michael van Gerwen (14) 6-2 Matthew Wenham
Rafael Carrero 6-3 Tony Martin
Mervyn King (19) 6-2 Roland Scholten
Michael Barnard 6-4 Juan Villalobos

Second Round
Tomas Seyler 6-0 Antonio Estelerric
Gary Mawson 6-0 George Ramos
Jyhan Artut 6-4 Simon Craven
Andy Smith 6-1 Amos Bosano
James Wade 6-3 Maik Langendorf
Co Stompe 6-2 Stuart Bousfield
Sam Allen 6-4 Ronnie Baxter
Tony Ayres 6-4 Jelle Klaasen
Gary Anderson 6-0 Carlos Martinez
Marko Puls 6-3 Peter Manley
Wayne Jones 6-0 Jon Archer
Kevin Painter 6-4 Nigel Heydon
Mario Masurka 6-4 Chris Loudon
Mark Dudbridge 6-1 Dave Ladley
Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Joe Cullen
Terry Jenkins 6-1 Chris Thompson
Colin Osborne 6-2 Mark Lawrence
Steve Grubb 6-1 Matt Clark
Alan Tabern 6-3 George Federico
Andy Hamilton 6-1 Darren Webster
Colin Lloyd 6-0 Julian Sanchez
Tony Eccles 6-5 Michael Rosenauer
Robert Thornton 6-3 Mark Jodrill
Peter Wright 6-2 Mark Stephenson
Wes Newton 6-2 Mick McGowan
Peter Hudson 6-2 Adrian Gray
Jamie Caven 6-1 Kirk Shepherd
Denis Ovens 6-5 Tony Randell
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Tony Blundell
Wayne Atwood 6-5 Dave Askew
Michael van Gerwen 6-0 Rafael Carrero
Mervyn King 6-0 Michael Barnard
Losers £200

Third Round
Tomas Seyler 6-4 Gary Mawson
Andy Smith 6-1 Jyhan Artut
James Wade 6-3 Co Stompe
Tony Ayres 6-0 Sam Allen
Gary Anderson 6-5 Marko Puls
Wayne Jones 6-5 Kevin Painter
Mark Dudbridge 6-0 Mario Masurka
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Terry Jenkins
Colin Osborne 6-2 Steve Grubb
Andy Hamilton 6-5 Alan Tabern
Colin Lloyd 6-5 Tony Eccles
Peter Wright 6-3 Robert Thornton
Wes Newton 6-4 Peter Hudson
Jamie Caven 6-5 Denis Ovens
Adrian Lewis 6-5 Wayne Atwood
Mervyn King 6-3 Michael van Gerwen
Losers £300

Fourth Round
Andy Smith 6-2 Tomas Seyler
James Wade 6-4 Tony Ayres
Wayne Jones 6-3 Gary Anderson
Mark Dudbridge 6-5 Vincent van der Voort
Colin Osborne 6-5 Andy Hamilton
Colin Lloyd 6-0 Peter Wright
Jamie Caven 6-2 Wes Newton
Mervyn King 6-4 Adrian Lewis
Losers £500

James Wade 6-2 Andy Smith
Wayne Jones 6-5 Mark Dudbridge
Colin Lloyd 6-3 Colin Osborne
Mervyn King 6-4 Jamie Caven
Losers £1,000

Wayne Jones 6-5 James Wade
Colin Lloyd 6-2 Mervyn King
Losers £1,500

Colin Lloyd 6-2 Wayne Jones
Winner £6,000
Runner-Up £3,000

David Allen
PDC Media Officer



View AllPlay Games


View AllNic Ladds