William Hill Online Help Centre Close Detach
  • Change view:

William Hill Online Sports Betting - Live Football, Horse Racing, Greyhounds, Sports & Games

Nic Ladds 13th Mar 2010 - 20:09

Super Taylor in top form

PDC Media Office David Allen brings us a round up of the Player's Championship in Wigan.

PHIL TAYLOR swept to a second successive Players Championship victory, whitewashing Mark Dudbridge in the final of Saturday's event in Wigan.

Taylor was victorious in a Players Championship two weeks ago in Derby, and claimed another £6,000 title at Wigan's Robin Park Tennis Centre.

The 15-time World Champion won his opening three games on the day 6-2, against Darren Latham, Gary Mawson and Peter Manley, before defeating Holland's Michael van Gerwen 6-4 in the last 16.

Following a 6-1 win over Wes Newton in the quarter-finals, he defeated Colin Lloyd 6-3 at the last four stage - winning four of the final five legs after the Essex man shared the opening stages - before powering past Dudbridge in the decider.

Dudbridge never recovered from missing three darts at double eight to win the second leg as Taylor followed up his double 16 finish to win the opening leg by hitting the same bed again.

Dudbridge hit two 180s in the next leg, but was denied a dart at a double as Taylor landed a second successive 14-darter on double eight.

That was followed by an 11-darter in leg four and a 164 checkout to establish a 5-0 lead.

Dudbridge matched a 180 from Taylor in the sixth leg, but four missed doubles allowed the world number one to seal victory on double six for an overall average of over 114 in the final.

Dudbridge's run to the final was his best display since January 2009, and included notable wins over Andy Hamilton, Mark Webster, emerging duo Stuart Bousfield and Michael Smith and the in-form Chris Thompson.

Thompson had earlier knocked out world number three James Wade in round one, with the left-hander amongst a host of big-name casualties in the early stages.

Wade's fellow Whyte & Mackay Premier League Darts stars Adrian Lewis, Ronnie Baxter and Simon Whitlock also lost in the first round, alongside Gary Anderson, Steve Beaton, Alan Tabern, Jamie Caven, Co Stompe and John Part.

Mark Webster reached the quarter-finals for the second successive Players Championship, while Kirk Shepherd enjoyed his best display for six months by reaching the last eight.

Play resumes on Sunday with the third UK Open Qualifier of the year being held at the Robin Park Tennis Centre.


Players Championship 7

Preliminary Round

Darren Johnson 6-0 Harry Robinson

Simon Whitlock 6-2 Jimmy Mann

Kevin Dowling 6-2 Andy Pearson

Sam Allen 6-3 Gary Welding

Mark Frost 6-0 Par Riihonen

Darren Webster 6-1 Lee Hayes

Nick Fullwell 6-1 Steve Grubb

Andy Pearce 6-0 James Dunlop

John Quantock 6-3 Dave Honey

Tony Clark 6-0 Tommy McIntosh

Paul Williams 6-2 Steven Perry

Colin Monk 6-3 Martyn Bevan


Round One

Phil Taylor (1) 6-2 Darren Latham

Gary Mawson 6-4 Barrie Bates

Peter Manley (32) 6-1 Jon Archer

Michael Rosenauer 6-1 Matt Clark

Michael van Gerwen (16) 6-5 Anton Liscsey

Stephen Hardy 6-4 Ian McFarlane

Paul Nicholson (17) 6-0 Matt Draper

Darren Johnson 6-2 Mark Stephenson

Wes Newton (8) 6-0 Gary Eastwood

Alex Roy 6-1 Wayne Mardle

Brendan Dolan (25) 6-0 Jimmy O'Regan

Wayne Atwood 6-5 Simon Whitlock

Tony Eccles 6-3 Steve Beaton (9)

Tony Blundell 6-2 Frazer Hill

Kevin Painter (24) 6-0 Anastasia Dobromyslova

Mick McGowan 6-4 Kevin Dowling

Mareno Michels 6-2 Gary Anderson (5)

Steve Evans 6-4 Joe Cullen

Steve Brown (28) 6-1 Ron Atwill

Ian Lever 6-4 Sam Allen

Tony Ayres 6-5 Ronnie Baxter (12)

Kirk Shepherd 6-3 Sean White

Denis Ovens (21) 6-1 Paul Rowley

James Barton 6-2 Mark Frost

Colin Lloyd (4) 6-1 Tony Martin

Darren Weaver 6-3 Anthony Urmston-Toft

Jelle Klaasen (29) 6-1 Tom Martin

Dean Allsopp 6-1 Andy Fordham

Vincent van der Voort (13) 6-0 Matthew Wenham

Rick Lowther 6-3 Andy Hutchings

Nigel Heydon 6-4 Alan Tabern (20)

Darren Webster 6-1 Mark Carter

Mark Walsh (2) 6-0 Ian Jopling

Arron Monk 6-1 Simon Craven

Mark Webster (31) 6-5 Justin Pipe

Robbie Newland 6-2 Matt Padgett

Dennis Priestley (15) 6-3 Roland Scholten

Martyn Turner 6-4 Adrian Gray

Marko Puls 6-5 Andy Smith (18)

Nick Fullwell 6-5 Danny Pinhorne

Chris Thompson 6-4 James Wade (7)

Patrick Pace 6-4 Mark Jones

Mark Dudbridge (26) 6-4 Michael Smith

Nigel Birch 6-2 Andy Pearce

Wayne Jones (10) 6-0 Daz Mawer

Stuart Bousfield 6-1 Mark Hylton

Richie Burnett 6-4 Co Stompe (23)

Steve Musson 6-5 John Quantock

Dave Ladley 6-5 Adrian Lewis (6)

Louis Blundell 6-4 John Part

Peter Wright (27) 6-2 Ian Eames

Robert Alford 6-0 Tony Clark

Chris Mason 6-5 Jamie Caven (11)

Andy Callaby 6-3 Kevin McDine

Robert Thornton (22) 6-4 Steve Farmer

Paul Williams 6-2 Peter Hudson

Colin Osborne (3) 6-2 Steve Maish

Tony Randell 6-5 Dave Smith

Steve Hine (30) 6-3 Dennis Smith

Michael Barnard 6-1 Gary Blades

Andy Hamilton (14) 6-1 Chris Loudon

Kevin Harris 6-4 Geoff Whitworth

Terry Jenkins (19) 6-5 Mark Lawrence

Colin Monk 6-3 Jimi Parr


Round Two

Phil Taylor 6-2 Gary Mawson

Peter Manley 6-0 Michael Rosenauer

Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Stephen Hardy

Paul Nicholson 6-4 Darren Johnson

Wes Newton 6-5 Alex Roy

Wayne Atwood 6-5 Brendan Dolan

Tony Eccles 6-1 Tony Blundell

Kevin Painter 6-2 Mick McGowan

Steve Evans 6-4 Mareno Michels

Steve Brown 6-5 Ian Lever

Kirk Shepherd 6-4 Tony Ayres

James Barton 6-5 Denis Ovens

Colin Lloyd 6-5 Darren Weaver

Jelle Klaasen 6-0 Dean Allsopp

Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Rick Lowther

Nigel Heydon 6-4 Darren Webster

Mark Walsh 6-4 Arron Monk

Mark Webster 6-3 Robbie Newland

Dennis Priestley 6-2 Martyn Turner

Nick Fullwell 6-5 Marko Puls

Chris Thompson 6-3 Patrick Pace

Mark Dudbridge 6-4 Nigel Birch

Stuart Bousfield 6-5 Wayne Jones

Steve Musson 6-4 Richie Burnett

Louis Blundell 6-1 Dave Ladley

Peter Wright 6-4 Robert Alford

Chris Mason 6-0 Andy Callaby

Robert Thornton 6-1 Paul Williams

Colin Osborne 6-5 Tony Randell

Michael Barnard 6-4 Steve Hine

Andy Hamilton 6-0 Kevin Harris

Terry Jenkins 6-4 Colin Monk

Losers £200


Round Three

Phil Taylor 6-2 Peter Manley

Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Paul Nicholson

Wes Newton 6-4 Wayne Atwood

Kevin Painter 6-5 Tony Eccles

Steve Evans 6-0 Steve Brown

Kirk Shepherd 6-4 James Barton

Colin Lloyd 6-3 Jelle Klaasen

Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Nigel Heydon

Mark Webster 6-3 Mark Walsh

Nick Fullwell 6-1 Dennis Priestley

Mark Dudbridge 6-2 Chris Thompson

Stuart Bousfield 6-5 Steve Musson

Peter Wright 6-3 Louis Blundell

Robert Thornton 6-5 Chris Mason

Michael Barnard 6-3 Colin Osborne

Andy Hamilton 6-3 Terry Jenkins

Losers £300


Round Four

Phil Taylor 6-4 Michael van Gerwen

Wes Newton 6-4 Kevin Painter

Kirk Shepherd 6-2 Steve Evans

Colin Lloyd 6-1 Vincent van der Voort

Mark Webster 6-3 Nick Fullwell

Mark Dudbridge 6-2 Stuart Bousfield

Robert Thornton 6-4 Peter Wright

Andy Hamilton 6-5 Michael Barnard

Losers £500



Phil Taylor 6-1 Wes Newton

Colin Lloyd 6-0 Kirk Shepherd

Mark Dudbridge 6-5 Mark Webster

Andy Hamilton 6-3 Robert Thornton

Losers £1,000



Phil Taylor 6-3 Colin Lloyd

Mark Dudbridge 6-2 Andy Hamilton

Losers £1,500



Phil Taylor 6-0 Mark Dudbridge

Winner £6,000

Runner-Up £3,000




View AllPlay Games


View AllNic Ladds