William Hill Online Help Centre Close Detach
  • Change view:

William Hill Online Sports Betting - Live Football, Horse Racing, Greyhounds, Sports & Games

Simon Gott 16th Dec 2013 - 22:52

Suarez Lands FSF Player of the Year award

Luis Suarez was the big winner on the night of the inaugural FSF Awards, in association with William Hill.

The red hot Liverpool hit man struck again picking up the Fans 'Player of the Year'.

Suarez, who attended the event at the Emirates in person to collect his award, said: "It is a great honour for me to receive such a prestigious award from the fans.

"This award is not just for me but for my team-mates, management and coaching staff, and for everyone connected with Liverpool Football Club.  Without them, I would not be the recipient of the award.

"The past 24 hours have been fantastic for me.  To captain Liverpool to victory at Tottenham yesterday meant a great deal to me.  And now, to be receiving this award, at the Emirates Stadium is another great honour.

"I think it fair to say that the past year has been an eventful one for me.

"Anyone who knows me knows that I love to play football, that is what I enjoy the most.  I am delighted that I and my club are finishing the year so strongly and we can look forward to a very successful future.

"I am very honoured that the football fans of England have seen fit to vote me their player of the year for 2013.

"I am very much hoping that 2014 will be a great year for me and Liverpool and, please forgive me when I say this with the World Cup coming up, for Uruguay as well."

Hundreds of fans, journalists and club representatives attended the Awards to salute the best in the football business.

Gary Neville scooped the 'Pundit of the Year' prize. The Sky Sports favourite said 'It is a real honour to be awarded the 'Pundit of the Year' award. I've always felt that we're here to coach and educate, to pass on our knowledge from all the great managers and coaches I've worked with.'

Other winners on the night included Arsenal, who picked up the prestigious Away Day of the Year, and Sky Sports' Martin Tyler picked up the 'Commentator of the Year' award.

Kevin Miles, Chief Executive of the FSF, said: "These Awards are by fans, for fans, and really do reward the best that football has to offer - and that recognition couldn't come from a more reputable source than the



The winners of the 2013 FSF Awards in association with William Hill (alphabetically):

Away Day of the Year - Arsenal

Blogger of the Year - Kieron O'Connor - Swiss Ramble

Commentator of the Year - Martin Tyler

Fanzine of the Year - Stand Against Modern Football (Various/All)

Independent Website of the Year - Arseblog

Newspaper of the Year - The Guardian

Player of the Year - Luis Suarez

Podcast of the Year - Football Weekly

Pundit of the Year - Gary Neville

Writer of the Year - Henry Winter (The Daily Telegraph)



View AllPlay Games


View AllSimon Gott