William Hill Online Help Centre Close Detach
  • Change view:

William Hill Online Sports Betting - Live Football, Horse Racing, Greyhounds, Sports & Games

Craig Porter 2nd Dec 2008 - 13:14

About the Merrill Lynch Shootout

The Merrill Lynch Shootout is one of the PGA Tour's most unique tournaments, its format offering intriguing golf betting opportunities.

Greg Norman will host the 20th running of the tournament, on a course designed by the Great White Shark himself, at the Tiburon Golf Club in Naples, Florida.

Twelve teams of two players compete over three mixed-format rounds. In Round 1 the teams play Alternate Modified Shot. The following day the Better Ball format of the game is used while Scramble is played on the final day.

As host, Greg Norman has played in every Merrill Lynch Shootout since the inaugural event in 1989 but has only managed one victory in 1998. He missed out by just one shot in the 2007 tournament.

A distinguished list of four players have won the tournament: Fred Couples, Steve Elkington, Brad Faxon and Scott McCarron. Hoping to join them following the 2008 Merrill Lynch Shootout is two-time winner and current champion Mark Calcavecchia who won with debutant Woody Austin last year.

View all our golf betting odds

Merrill Lynch Shootout - Previous Winners

Year Venue
1989 Curtis Strange & Mark O'Meara
1990 Fred Couples & Ray Floyd
1991 Tom Purtzer & Lanny Wadkins
1992 Tom Kite & Davis Love III
1993 Steve Elkington & Ray Floyd
1994 Fred Couples & Brad Faxon
1995 Mark Calcavecchia & Steve Elkington
1996 Jay Haas & Tom Kite
1997 Bruce Lietzke & Scott McCarron
1998 Greg Norman & Steve Elkington
1999 David Duval & Fred Couples
2000 Brad Faxon & Scott McCarron
2001 Brad Faxon & Scott McCarron
2002 Lee Janzen & Rocco Mediate
2003 Jeff Sluman & Hank Kuehne
2004 Jeff Sluman & Hank Kuehne
2005 John Huston & Kenny Perry
2006 Jerry Kelly & Rod Pampling
2007 Woody Austin & Mark Calcavecchia


View AllPlay Games


View AllCraig Porter