William Hill Online Help Centre Close Detach
  • Change view:

William Hill Online Sports Betting - Live Football, Horse Racing, Greyhounds, Sports & Games

Craig Porter 26th Nov 2008 - 6:34

Golf World Cup: previous winners

Colin Montgomerie and Marc Warren lifted the John Jay Hopkins trophy for Scotland in the 2007 Omega Mission Hills World Cup defeating the USA in a play-off.

In 53 runnings the competition has seen 14 different nations crowned World Cup champions. The United States have won a total of 23 times with South Africa the next most successful with five wins followed by Spain and Australia with four each. Scotland's victory last year was their first.

Jack Nicklaus won a record six times between 1963 and 1973 four of which playing with Arnold Palmer who himself won on five occasions. Fred Couples and Davis Love III also won four times as a pair from 1992 to 1995.

William Hill offer betting odds on which nation will win golf's World Cup, daily foursome and fourball prices and tournament match bets.

Go to golf World Cup betting odds

Read more golf World Cup history

Year Venue Winning team and players
1953 Beaconsfield, Montreal, Canada Argentina Roberto de Vicenzo/Antonio Cedra
1954 Laval-sur-Le Lac, Montreal, Canada Australia Kel Nagle/Peter Thomson
1955 Columbia, Washington DC, USA USA Chick Harbert/Ed Furgol
1956 Wentworth Club, Surrey, England USA Ben Hogan/Sam Snead
1957 Kasumigaseki, Tokyo, Japan Japan Torakichi Nakamura/Koichi Ono
1958 Club de Golf Mexico City, Mexico Ireland Harry Bradshaw/Christy O'Connor
1959 Royal Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia Australia Peter Thomson/Kel Nagle
1960 Portmarnock, Dublin, Ireland USA Arnold Palmer/Sam Snead
1961 Dorado Beach, Dorado, Puerto Rico USA Sam Snead/Jimmy Demaret
1962 Jockey Club, Buenos Aires, Argentina USA Arnold Palmer/Sam Snead
1963 St-Nom-La Breteche, Paris, France USA Jack Nicklaus/Arnold Palmer
1964 Royal Kaanapali, Maui, Hawaii, USA USA Jack Nicklaus/Arnold Palmer
1965 Club de Campo, Madrid, Spain South Africa Gary Player/Harold Henning
1966 Yomiuri, Tokyo, Japan USA Jack Nicklaus/Arnold Palmer
1967 Club de Golf, Mexico City, Mexico USA Arnold Palmer/Jack Nicklaus
1968 Olgiata, Rome, Italy Canada Al Balding/George Knudson
1969 Singapore Island, Singapore USA Lee Trevino/Orville Moody
1970 Jockey Club, Buenos Aires, Argentina Australia David Graham/Bruce Devlin
1971 PGA National, Palm Beach Gardens, USA USA Jack Nicklaus/Lee Trevino
1972 Royal Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia Taiwan Hsieh Min-Nan/Lu-Liang-Huan
1973 Golf Nueva Andalucia (Las Brisas), Spain USA Johnny Miller/Jack Nicklaus
1974 Lagunita, Caracas, Venezuela South Africa Bobby Cole/Dale Hayes
1975 Navatanee, Bangkok, Thailand USA Johnny Miller/Lou Graham
1976 Mission Hills, Palm Springs, California, USA Spain Manuel Piñero/Seve Ballesteros
1977 Wack Wack, Manila, Philippines Spain Seve Ballesteros/Antonio Garrido
1978 Princeville Makai, Hawaii, USA USA John Mahaffey/Andy North
1979 Glyfada, Athens, Greece USA Hale Irwin/John Mahaffey
1980 El Rincon, Bogota, Colombia Canada Dan Halldorson/Jim Nelford
1981 Not played
1982 Pierre Marques, Acapulco, Mexico Spain Manuel Piñero/José Maria Cañizares
1983 Pondok Indah, Jakarta, Indonesia USA Rex Caldwell/John Cook
1984 Olgiata, Rome, Italy Spain José Maria Cañizares/José Rivero
1985 La Quinta, California, USA Canada Dave Barr/Dan Halldorson
1986 Not played
1987 Kapalua, Bay Course, Maui, Hawaii, USA Wales Ian Woosnam/David Llewellyn
1988 Royal Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia USA Ben Crenshaw/Mark McCumber
1989 Las Brisas, Marbella, Spain Australia Peter Fowler/Wayne Grady
1990 Grand Cypress Resort, Orlando, Florida, USA Germany Bernhard Langer/Torsten Giedeon
1991 Le Querce, Rome, Italy Sweden Per-Ulrik Johansson/Anders Forsbrand
1992 La Moraleja, Madrid, Spaine USA Fred Couples/Davis Love III
1993 Lake Nona, Orlando, Florida, USA USA Fred Couples/Davis Love III
1994 Hyatt Dorado Beach Resort, Dorado, Puerto Rico USA Fred Couples/Davis Love III
1995 Mission Hills, Shenzhen, China USA Fred Couples/Davis Love III
1996 Erinvale GC, Western Cape, South Africa South Africa Ernie Els/Wayne Westner
1997 Kiawah Island Resort, South Carolina, USA Ireland Padraig Harrington/Paul McGinley
1998 Gulf Harbour, Auckland, New Zealand England Nick Faldo/David Carter
1999 Mines Resort & GC, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia USA Mark O'Meara/Tiger Woods
2000 Buenos Aires Golf Club, Buenos Aires, Argentina USA Tiger Woods/David Duval
2001 The Taiheiyo Club (Gotemba Course), Shizouka, Japan South Africa Ernie Els/Retief Goosen
2002 Vista Vallarta (Nicklaus Course), Puerto Vallarta, Mexico Japan Shigeki Maruyama/Toshi Izawa
2003 Kiawah Island Resorts (The Ocean Course), Kiawah Island, South Carolina, USA South Africa Rory Sabbatini/Trevor Immelman
2004 Real Club de Golf de Seville, Seville, Spain England Paul Casey/Luke Donald
2005 Victoria Clube de Golfe Course, Algarve, Portugal Wales Bradley Dredge/Stephen Dodd
2006 Sandy Lane Resort (Country Club Course), St. James Barbados Germany Bernhard Langer/Marcel Siem
2007 Mission Hills Golf Club, China Scotland Colin Montgomerie/Marc Warren



View AllPlay Games


View AllCraig Porter