William Hill Online Help Centre Close Detach
  • Change view:

William Hill Online Sports Betting - Live Football, Horse Racing, Greyhounds, Sports & Games

Nic Ladds 1st Nov 2008 - 21:45

Race to Dubai - Explained

The Race to Dubai is what was formerly known as the European Tour Order Of Merit.

In The Race to Dubai the players will be ranked according to their earnings from all events on The European Tour International Schedule including all European Tour events, the Major Championships & the World Golf Championships.

The Number One to 60 players will qualify for the Dubai World Championship.

The race started upon the first shot of the HSBC Champions Tournament (November 6th) & will continue through the season, covering 53 tournaments through 27 destinations to the Dubai World Championship, where the top 60 player get their chance.

The Race to Dubai delivers additional Bonus Pool of $10,000,000 to the15 top-ranked players after the Dubai World Championship from which the champion will earn $1,666,660 from the $10,000,000 prize fund, plus a five year European Tour Card exemption.

The race is calculated in the euro (€) however some events in the season calender are paid in British pounds (£) or U.S. dollars ($), in these instances, the winning amounts are converted into euro at the relevant exchange rate for the week of the tournament. 

2009 Race to Dubai Table
Rank Player Country Events Prize
1 Sergio Garcia Spain 1 650,383
2 Oliver Wilson England 2 485,617
3 Peter Hanson Sweden 2 239,548
4 Goeff Ogilvy Australia 1 219,708
5 Francesco Molinari Italy 1 170,610
6 Rory McIlroy Northern Ireland 1 170,610
7 Henrik Stenson Sweden 1 166,245
8 Adam Scott Australia 1 126,830
9 Charl Schwartzel South Africa 1 126,830
10 Pablo Larrazabal Spain 2 116,684


View AllPlay Games


View AllNic Ladds