William Hill Online Help Centre Close Detach
  • Change view:

William Hill Online Sports Betting - Live Football, Horse Racing, Greyhounds, Sports & Games

Nic Ladds 21st Mar 2010 - 16:57

What is the Tavistock Cup?

This week sees the seventh edition of the two-day team event - The Tavistock Cup - which takes place in Orlando Florida.

The unusual annual event is contested by two teams - the top 10 best professionals at Isleworth, and their counterparts at Lake Nona Golf & Country Club.

Isleworth Golf & Country Club and Lake Nona Golf & Country Club are located within 25 miles of one-another and are both owned by Tavistock Group, but if you're more interested in hunting out a winning bet, history shows the winning team should be the hosting team.

Following the 2005 event which was a tie, the following annual contests have created ‘home' winners.

However Team Lake Nona has already celebrated two Tavistock victories under the leadership of Ernie Els and all eyes will be on the South African to lead his team to a third victory (4/11) - though that will go against the grain of the hosts (Isleworth @ 2/1) being the victors.

Monday's first round will be a ‘Fourball Match Play' format and within each fourball, the two-person team with the lowest 18-hole better ball total will win the match.

Each victory is worth 2 points, a tie is worth 1 point, and a loss is worth 0 points, In total, there will be 10 points awarded for Round 1.

Team Isleworth

Captain: Mark O'Meara
Team: Robert Allenby, Stuart Appleby, Arjun Atwal, John Cook, Brian Davis, J.B. Holmes, Charles Howell III, Lee Janzen and Nick O'Hern.

Team Lake Nona

Captain: Ernie Els
Team: Ben Curtis, Ross Fisher, Retief Goosen, Peter Hanson, Trevor Immelman, Graeme McDowell, Ian Poulter, Justin Rose and Henrik Stenson.


2010 Tavistock Cup Draw -Day 1

Match 1

Ernie Els & Trevor Immelman v Robert Allenby & Stuart Appleby

Match 2

Ben Curtis & Ross Fisher v John Cook & Mark O'Meara

Match 3

Peter Hanson & Graeme McDowell v Arjun Atwal & Lee Janzen

Match 4

Retief Goosen & Henrik Stenson v Brian Davis & Charles Howell III

Match 5

Ian Poulter & Justin Rose v J.B. Holmes & Nick O'Hern


2010 Tavistock Cup Draw - Day 2

Match 1

Ernie Els v Brian Davis
Ernie Els v Nick O'Hern
Graeme McDowell v Brian Davis
Graeme McDowell v Nick O'Hern

Match 2

Ben Curtis vs. Stuart Appleby
Ben Curtis vs. Mark O'Meara
Justin Rose vs. Stuart Appleby
Justin Rose vs. Mark O'Meara

Match 3

Retief Goosen vs. John Cook
Retief Goosen vs. Charles Howell III
Trevor Immelman vs. John Cook
Trevor Immelman vs. Charles Howell III

Match 4

Ross Fisher vs. Arjun Atwal
Ross Fisher vs. Lee Janzen
Peter Hanson vs. Arjun Atwal
Peter Hanson vs. Lee Janzen

Match 5

Ian Poulter vs. Robert Allenby
Ian Poulter vs. J.B. Holmes
Henrik Stenson vs. Robert Allenby
Henrik Stenson vs. J.B. Holmes

Team Prize Breakdown:
• Winning team receives $1 million
• Runner-up team receives $500,000
• Old Mutual Long Drive Challenge is on Hole #7 and awards $100,000 to be split among the members of the team with the player who hits the longest drive


SOURCE Tavistock Group



View AllPlay Games


View AllNic Ladds