William Hill Online Help Centre Close Detach
  • Change view:

William Hill Online Sports Betting - Live Football, Horse Racing, Greyhounds, Sports & Games

Craig Porter 1st Dec 2008 - 16:39

Old enemies face off in Rugby World Cup 2011

The draw for the 2011 Rugby Union World Cup to be held in New Zealand was made in London this afternoon.

Monday's draw saw arch-rivals England and Scotland coming out in the same pool but avoiding tournament favourites New Zealand and current World Champions South Africa.

The 12 pre-qualified teams were drawn into four pools, seeded according to their current international rankings. The remaining qualifiers, that are yet to be decided, have also been allocated their pool places.

Hosts and favourites New Zealand have been drawn with France and Tonga in Pool A and are expected to finish top giving them a quarter-final tie against the Pool B runners-up.

That means that England or Scotland could face the All Blacks in the quarters. Drawn with Argentina in Pool B, the battle for the top spot to avoid New Zealand will be fierce.

Ireland face two-time champions Australia and Italy in Pool C and will be confident of qualifying for the knock-out stages. But the ever-improving Italians have three more years to develop.

Reigning champions South Africa were drawn in Pool D with 2008 Six Nations Grand Slam winners Wales and Fiji and will attempt to become the first nation to retain the William Web Ellis Cup and win the World Cup on three separate occasions.

New Zealand 2011 Rugby World Cup draw

Pool A Pool B
New Zealand 8/11 Argentina 40/1
France 14/1 England 14/1
Tonga 500/1 Scotland 150/1
Americas 1 Europe 1
Asia 1 Play-off winner
Pool C Pool D
Australia 9/2 South Africa 7/2
Ireland 33/1 Wales 20/1
Italy 250/1 Fiji 500/1
Europe 2 Oceania 1
Americas 2 Africa 1

View the latest Rugby World Cup betting odds

Read about the history of the Rugby World Cup


View AllPlay Games


View AllCraig Porter