From 92 teams down to the last two, we’ve reached the League Cup final with the competing clubs bidding to win one of the English football’s most prestigious cup competitions.

Ahead of the match, here’s all you need to know about the Football League Cup final, including when it will be taking place, past League Cup winners and the latest League Cup odds.

Check out all the latest football betting odds at William Hill

What teams have won the League Cup?

Since first being held in 1960–61, the League Cup – also known as the EFL Cup and the Carabao Cup for sponsorship reasons – has been won by 23 different clubs over the years, with Aston Villa winning the inaugural tournament. Liverpool have won the trophy a record eight times, while Manchester City have won the competition for the last four consecutive seasons.

See below for a full list of the previous League Cup winners.

ClubNumber of winsYears won
Liverpool81981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1995, 2001, 2003, 2012
Manchester City81970, 1976, 2014, 2016, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021
Aston Villa51961, 1975, 1977, 1994, 1996
Manchester United51992, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2017
Chelsea51965, 1998, 2005, 2007, 2015
Tottenham Hotspur41971, 1973, 1999, 2008
Nottingham Forest41978, 1979, 1989, 1990
Leicester City31964, 1997, 2000
Arsenal21987, 1993
Norwich City21962, 1985
Birmingham City21963, 2011
Wolverhampton Wanderers21974, 1980
West Bromwich Albion11966
Queens Park Rangers11967
Leeds United11968
Stoke City11972
Luton Town11988
Sheffield Wednesday11991
Swindon Town11969
Oxford United11986
Blackburn Rovers12002
Swansea City12013

Which manager has won the League Cup the most?

A number of great managers have got their hands on the League Cup over the years, with four of the best sharing the record for having won the tournament the most times. Sir Alex Ferguson, Brian Clough, Jose Mourinho and Pep Guardiola have all lifted the trophy on four different occasions. Guardiola has won the last four League Cups in a row with Manchester City.

What does the winner of the League Cup get?

As well as being able to lift the League Cup trophy, the winner of the competition also earns a place in the UEFA Europa Conference League for the following season, starting off in the play-off stages. If the winning club has a place in the Champions League or Europa League for the following season then they will keep that instead.

When and where is the League Cup final?

As for the League Cup schedule, the League Cup final will be played on 27th February 2022 at Wembley Stadium in London.

When is the draw for the next round of the Carabao Cup? The two teams competing in the final will be known following the completion of the semi-final second legs, played during the week of 10th January 2022.

League Cup final betting odds

As for the League Cup betting odds and the favourites to go all the way among the remaining EFL Cup teams, Thomas Tuchel’s Chelsea sit top of the betting at 9/4, followed by Liverpool at 10/3 and Arsenal at 7/2, while Spurs and West Ham are both priced at 6/1 for glory. Elsewhere, Leicester (8/1), Brentford (20/1) and Sunderland (66/1) round off the betting in the EFL Cup winner odds market.

Would you like to work out your potential winnings? Try our online betting calculator.