We’ve come to that time of the season in the Premier League when thoughts start turning to who might be crowned the division’s best player and, in the process, be awarded the PFA Player of the Year.

It’s been quite a season so far with one star name leading the way in the betting, a few surprises making an appearance and the usual suspects also being touted. We’ve profiled the runners and riders below.

Bruno Fernandes

It’s no surprise to see that Bruno Fernandes is the player heading up the betting for the 2021 PFA Player of the Year award. At a price of 10/11, the Manchester United maestro is the favourite, and it’s hard to argue against his case for the gong. At times he has almost single-handedly inspired United to what has been a pretty impressive season to date, and with 16 goals and 10 assists in the Premier League this term, only Harry Kane can better his goal contributions tally of 26. The man to beat.

Ruben Dias

If this award was given to the signing of the season then there would only be one winner: Ruben Dias. What a superb bit of business Dias has been since joining Manchester City from Benfica last year, taking no time at all to adapt to the Premier League’s demanding conditions, while providing an assuredness at the back City had been missing. Dias has been pivotal to the runaway league leaders City having the meanest defence in the division this term, with just 21 goals conceded and 16 clean sheets kept. The centre-back is 3/1 to claim the award.

Harry Kane

Next in line at 5/1 in the betting is Harry Kane, who has enjoyed a superb season for Spurs. Kane’s 17 league goals so far sees him sit joint-top on the top scorer list and it would take a brave man to bet against him topping that table come the end of the campaign. But what has been just as impressive is his tally of 13 assists on top that of – a league high – meaning no player has registered more Premier League goal contributions this term than Kane’s stunning 30.

Ilkay Gundogan

While Fernandes is the expected leader at the top of the betting, the same can’t be said of the player standing fourth in line. At 8/1, Ilkay Gundogan is currently Fernandes’ nearest rival for the award alongside Dias and Kane – a position nobody would have expected him to be in at the start of the season. While he has always been of importance to Manchester City, Gundogan has typically played a more understated role. Not this season, where a City injury crisis up top has seen him play in a more advanced role and bag 12 league goals in the process. His form has been instrumental to City’s likely march to the title.

Kevin De Bruyne

Last year’s PFA Player of the Year Kevin De Bruyne seems to have gone under the radar somewhat compared to the aforementioned four players. The Manchester City midfielder has endured a couple of injuries this season that have restricted him slightly, yet even then he has managed a second-best 11 Premier League assists this term and played his own vital role for the champions-elect. At 20/1, De Bruyne looks an outside bet for this year’s award.

Check out all the latest football betting odds at William Hill