Check out the latest Masters golf odds and other golf betting odds at William Hill.

The Masters returns from Augusta just five months on from Dustin Johnson’s maiden victory at the 2020 edition of the tournament.

The great and the good of golf have prevailed at the famous event, with some dominating the competition over several years.

Ahead of the Masters golf 2021 event, we’ve combed through the record books to analyse the previous Masters golf winners to find out who is the true master of The Masters.

The Masters: Previous winners of the golf tournament since 2000

2000Vijay Singh 
2001Tiger Woods
2002Tiger Woods
2003Mike Weir 
2004Phil Mickelson
2005Tiger Woods 
2006Phil Mickelson
2007Zach Johnson
2008Trevor Immelman
2009Angel Cabrera 
2010Phil Mickelson
2011Charl Schwartzel
2012Bubba Watson 
2013Adam Scott
2014Bubba Watson
2015Jordan Spieth
2016Danny Willett
2017Sergio Garcia 
2018Patrick Reed
2019Tiger Woods
2020Dustin Johnson

Players with the most wins in the Masters overall

Jack Nicklaus (6) – 1963, 1965, 1966, 1972, 1975, 1986

A man so often at the head of the Masters golf betting odds, ‘The Golden Bear’ clinched his first Masters crown back in 1963, at the age of just 23, making him the youngest man to win the tournament at that time. Although this was merely the beginning of his reign over the sport and of his famous rivalry with Arnold Palmer, his maiden Masters win displayed better than any of his early victories the immense talent that had been unleashed on the game.

After a lean year in 1964, he returned to Augusta in 1965 in style. He finished the week with an aggregate score of 271 shots, beating the previous record lowest score at the tournament of 274 set by Ben Hogan 12 years earlier. Nicklaus would later describe his third-round performance as his most complete round of golf. He retained his title the following year to become the youngest and first back-to-back winner of the tournament.

After winning again in 1972 and 1975, perhaps Nicklaus’ most impressive win came in 1986, over two decades on from his first win. In a star-studded field, Nicklaus shot an incredible six-under par 30 on the back nine of his final round, to finish with a final round 65. He then watched with bated breath as challengers such as Palmer tried and failed to meet his mark, as he collected his 18th major title at the age of 46 and the Masters golf prize money once more. He remains the oldest winner of the Masters.

Tiger Woods (5) – 1997, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2019

Woods’ career has often taken similar turns to Nicklaus’. Tiger clinched his first Masters crown and his first major, at the age of just 21, beating Jack’s record for the youngest winner set in 1963. He would also surpass Nicklaus’ record low score, shooting a -18, 270 and winning by a remarkable 12 strokes.

Whilst the next four years were lean at Augusta, they were far from it at other tournaments. Coming into the 2001 Masters, Woods was in possession of all of the three other major titles and his victory at Augusta made him the only man to win all four majors consecutively.

After more success at Augusta in 2002 and 2005, Woods would go on a barren run without major success. Such was the former world number one’s drought that few expected that he would win another major title again. However, 22 years after his first win, Woods would once again make Augusta his playground, as a final round surge helped him see off the likes of Dustin Johnson and Brooks Koepka to land his 15th major crown.

Arnold Palmer (4) – 1958, 1960, 1962, 1964

As the co-star of the Nicklaus/Palmer rivalry, the great Arnold Palmer first won at Augusta in 1958 – his -4 score enough to hold off Doug Ford and Fred Hawkins. After picking up a second green jacket in 1960, he would win two more in the four years following as his rivalry with Nicklaus thrust golf into the mainstream consciousness.

Although 1964 would be his final win at Augusta, it would be far from his final appearance at the famous tournament. In fact Palmer played in a remarkable 50 consecutive Masters between 1954 and his final appearance in 2004. In an impressive decade-long run between 1957, he finished no lower than T9th, with all four of his wins coming during this period.

Phil Mickelson, Sam Snead, Gary Player, Nick Faldo, Jimmy Demaret (3)

Five players currently sit level on three Masters crowns, with American Phil Mickelson the only active player on the list with a chance to add to that record. Mickelson last won the tournament in 2010, beating Lee Westwood by three strokes, and has come close on two occasions since (2012 and 2015) to equalling Palmer’s four green jackets.

Legendary Sam Snead won the tournament three times in six attempts between 1949 and 1954, finishing in the top three on eight occasions in total.

All three of American Jimmy Demaret’s major wins came at the famous tournament, which he won in 1940, 1947 and 1950 in a career that spanned over two decades.

A third of South African legend Gary Player’s major titles also came at Augusta. He fended off Palmer to win in 1961, before a 13-year wait for his second green jacket. His ninth and final major came at the 1978 tournament after holding off a charging group that included American Tom Watson.

No British man has claimed more wins at Augusta National than Englishman Nick Faldo, who is often described as one of the greatest English golfers of all time. After winning his first major crown at the 1987 Open Championship, Faldo would land his first green jacket in 1989 after beating Scott Hoch in a tense play-off. After retaining his title in 1990, he would win his final major at Augusta in 1996.

Who has earnt the most at the Masters?

Winning the Masters is one of the pinnacles of any golfer’s career. The prestige that comes with it is one thing, but the Masters golf prize money for the winner is another. Last year’s champion Dustin Johnson reportedly took home $2,070,000. We’ve looked at which players have earned the most money at the Masters.


  1. Tiger Woods: $9,556,069
  2. Phil Mickelson: $8,067,517
  3. Jordan Spieth: $4,594,828
  4. Dustin Johnson: $4,246,475
  5. Bubba Watson: $3,968,305