The 43rd Ryder Cup returns this weekend with Europe bidding to retain the title they won in 2018 when comfortably defeating the United States team at Le Golf National, France.

Both Ryder Cup squads have been finalised and everything now looks set for a titanic battle on the shores of Lake Michigan.

Check out all the latest golf betting odds at William Hill

What are the odds for the 2021 Ryder Cup?

Given the strength in depth of the United States team – nine of the top 11 world-ranked players feature in their squad – current Ryder Cup betting has the hosts as favourites for victory this year. They are available to back at 1/2, with Europe at odds of 2/1. You can get 12/1 about the outcome being a tie.

Europe’s Jon Rahm, however, is the undisputed world number one and the only European player in the top 10. You can get enhanced odds of 4/1 about him being the top European player.

Dustin Johnson is the highest ranked US player at world number two. He has managed 7 points from his previous 16 matches at the Ryder Cup and is an enhanced 8/1 to be the top US points scorer this time around.

There are plenty of player markets to get involved in and an interesting one may be Top English Player. Tommy Fleetwood is current favourite at 14/5, but Ian Poulter is a vastly experienced Ryder Cup player who has taken 15 points from his 22 matches to date. That makes him an attractive proposition at odds of 9/2.

A Ryder Cup correct score market is also available, with Europe to win by the same 17½-10½ margin as in 2018 at odds of 35/1. Elsewhere, there are also enhanced odds available for Europe to win by a tight 15-13 at 14/1.

Which players are in the Ryder Cup teams?

Europe: Captain – Pádraig Harrington

Jon Rahm, Tommy Fleetwood, Tyrrell Hatton, Matt Fitzpatrick, Rory McIlroy, Viktor Hovland, Paul Casey, Lee Westwood, Bernd Wiesberger, Shane Lowry, Sergio Garcia, Ian Poulter.

United States: Captain – Steve Stricker

Collin Morikawa, Dustin Johnson, Bryson DeChambeau, Brooks Koepka, Justin Thomas, Patrick Cantlay, Scottie Scheffler, Tony Finau, Daniel Berger, Jordan Spieth, Xander Schauffele, Harris English.

What is the Ryder Cup?

The Ryder Cup was first played in 1927, when a United States team defeated Great Britain over two days play. Since 1979 the competition has been played every two years between teams of golfers from Europe and the United States. Each Ryder Cup is held at a different venue, alternating between Europe and the United States.

Teams of 12 players are chosen by ranking, with each team captain picking several players to make up their squad. For example, Jon Rahm who has scored the most points on the European Tour was automatically selected, while non-playing European Captain Pádraig Harrington, choose three wildcard players – Sergio Garcia, Shane Lowry and Ian Poulter – to make up his team of 12.

The action takes place over three days. On the first two days, players compete in four-ball; two players from each team, each playing a ball and taking the best score, and foursome competitions; two players from each team playing one ball with alternating strokes. On the final day 12 singles matches are played to determine the winner.

Any player can be picked to play in a maximum of five matches over the three days. Each winning four-ball or foursome partnership and each individual win after 18 holes scores a point for their team. A tied match earns each team half a point.

Where and when is the Ryder Cup being played this year?

The 43rd Ryder Cup will be held on the blustery shores of Lake Michigan at Whistling Straits, Wisconsin, USA.

The course has played host to the US PGA Championship on three occasions and with its shoreline situation has similarities to links courses in Britain and Ireland which should be a help to the visitors.

Play starts on Friday 24 September and concludes on Sunday 26.

Who are the previous Ryder Cup winners?

The US lost only three times from 1927 to 1983, but since the formation of the Europe team they have found things tougher. Since 1999 Europe have dominated, winning seven times to the US’s three.

Europe won in 2018 by 17½ points to the United States’ 10½, wresting the prize back after the US had triumphed in 2016. Italian Francesco Molinari was the top points scorer, winning a maximum 5 points for team Europe.