The Six Nations will start once again from early February for the annual competition involving six of the best northern hemisphere rugby union teams.

Ahead of the tournament’s start, we look ahead to all things Six Nations, giving you the lowdown on all you need to know about the upcoming competition.

What is the Six Nations?

The Six Nations is a historic rugby union competition dating originally back to 1883 as the Home Nations, although it wasn’t until 2000 that the competition first featured six nations rather than the previous format of four (1883-1909) and five teams (1910-2000).

The Six Nations competition sees England, Wales, Ireland, Scotland, France and Italy compete for the trophy, from the first weekend in February, to the Super Saturday final round of games in early March.

The tournament sees each team play each other once, making for a total of 15 games. The teams accumulate points throughout the series to determine the winner; 0 points for a loss, 2 for a draw, 4 for a win, 1 for scoring four or more tries in a match, and 1 for losing by 7 points or fewer.

As well as winning the Six Nations title, each team also seeks to claim the Grand Slam title (secured by winning all of their games), and to avoid the metaphorical award of the Wooden Spoon (losing all of their matches). Wales, the reigning Six Nations champions, and England hold the most title wins, each with 39.

Where and when is the 2022 Six Nations being played?

The 2022 tournament will see games held in each of the participating nations’ stadiums. France, Ireland and Wales are all currently due to have three home matches, while England Scotland and Italy will only have two.

England’s home games will be played at Twickenham in London, Wales’ at the Principality Stadium in Cardiff, and Scotland’s at Murrayfield in Edinburgh. Ireland will play their home games at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin, with France’s in Paris at the Stade de France and Italy’s home games in Rome’s Stadio Olimpico.

Ahead of the first round of fixtures, we’ve detailed the full 2022 Guinness 6 Nations schedule below.

Full Schedule

Round 1

Saturday, 5 February

Ireland v Wales – 14:15

Scotland v England – 16:45

Sunday, 6 February

France v Italy – 15:00

Round 2

Saturday, 12 February

Wales v Scotland – 14:15

France v Ireland – 16:45

Sunday, 13 February

Italy v England – 15:00

Round 3

Saturday, 26 February

Scotland v France – 14:15

England v Wales – 16:45

Sunday, 27 February

Ireland v Italy – 15:00

Round 4

Friday, 11 March

Wales v France – 20:00

Saturday, 12 March

Italy v Scotland – 14:15

England v Ireland – 16:45

Round 5

Saturday, 19 March

Wales v Italy – 14:15

Ireland v Scotland – 16:45

France v England – 20:00

Who are the previous winners of the Six Nations?

2021 saw Wales take the Six Nations trophy, having won four out of their five games. They accumulated 20 points, giving them a four-point lead over runners-up France, who were the only team to beat them.

Since 1883, Wales have won 39 of the titles, equalling England’s record, though the latter have won one more outright title with a haul of 29. Wales have also won the least Wooden Spoon titles, with their last in 2003. Last year, the Triple Crown trophy was awarded to Wales, due to their victories over all three of the original Home Nations: England, Scotland, and Ireland.

England have won the most Grand Slam titles (13) out of all of the six nations, with Wales behind on 12.

Since the Six Nations first featured six countries in 2000, England have won seven titles, Wales six, France five and Ireland four.

What are the odds for the 2022 Six Nations?

Ahead of the series, France lead the betting with odds of 6/4 to win the Six Nations. Ranked fifth in the world, France also lead the Grand Slam winner market with odds of 7/2. Despite not winning the Six Nations since 2010, France are a force to be reckoned with and look the team to beat.

Second in the market to win the Six Nations are England with odds of 5/2. They are likely to be France’s biggest competition as the joint-most successful Six Nations team. England are 11/2 to win the Grand Slam, while they are 6/4 to win the Triple Crown by beating Wales, Ireland and Scotland this year.

Reigning champions Wales will be looking to hold onto their crown this year, however, they are just fourth favourites with odds of 15/2. Head coach Wayne Pivac will be working hard to maintain the squad’s fitness and aggression that they showed in last year’s Six Nations, although a shoulder injury has ruled out Welsh veteran and Lions 2021 captain Alun Wyn Jones.

Ireland are another side not to be ignored and are third favourites to win the Six Nations at 7/2. Ireland produced an impressive Autumn Internationals campaign – including beating New Zealand – and will be looking to build on that.

Scotland are fifth in the market to win the Six Nations with odds of 10/1. Scottish player Finn Russell impressed on the 2021 Lions tour and will be hoping to inspire his team through the series.

Italy, meanwhile, are the least fancied at 500/1 to win the Six Nations, having not claimed a Six Nations win since beating Scotland at Murrayfield in 2015. They are 25/1 for an unlikely victory against France in their opening game of the tournament.

Check out all the latest rugby union betting odds at William Hill