French Open history

Held in May and June annually at the Stade Roland-Garros, the French Open is the premier clay court major championship in world tennis. It was 1891 when the first French national championships were played before women’s and doubles were added to the event shortly after. The tournament, along with other Championships, was opened to professionals in 1968 and now the clay surface is well known for taking down some big-serving greats of the game as well as producing some incredible moments. The tournament is the second of four Grand Slam Championships in the Tennis calendar, and to guide you through this year’s event we have compiled a list of the French Open champions throughout French Open history.

Check out all the latest tennis betting odds at William Hill

Winners over the last decade:

This table breaks down the last decade in winners of the Singles event for both men and women, which shows the dominance in the French Open by the clay court specialist Rafael Nadal, who has won the Major a staggering 9 times in the last decade.

2020Rafael Nadal Iga Swiatek
2019Rafael NadalAshleigh Barty
2018Rafael NadalSimona Halep
2017Rafael NadalJelena Ostapenko
2016Novak DjokovicGarbine Muguruza
2015Stan WawrinkaSerena Williams
2014Rafael NadalMaria Sharapova
2013Rafael NadalSerena Williams
2012Rafael NadalMaria Sharapova
2011Rafael NadalLi Na
2010Rafael NadalFrancesca Schiavone

The below table breaks down the last decades winners of the doubles event in both the men’s and women’s tournaments.

2010Daniel Nestor, Nenad ZimonjicSerena Williams, Venus Williams
2011Max Mirnyi, Daniel NestorAndrea Hlavackova, Lucie Hradecka
2012Max Mirnyi, Daniel NestorSara Errani, Roberta Vinci
2013Bob Bryan, Mike BryanEkaterina Makarova, Elena Vesnina
2014Julien Benneteau, Edouard Roger-VasselinHsieh Su-wei, Peng Shuai
2015Ivan Dodig, Marcelo MeloBethanie Mattek-Sands, Lucie Safarova
2016Feliciano Lopez, Marc LopezCaroline Garcia, Kristina Mladenovic
2017Ryan Harrison, Michael VenusBethanie Mattek-Sands, Lucie Safarova
2018Pierre-Hugues Herbert, Nicolas MahutBarbora Krejcikova, Katerina Siniakova
2019Kevin Krawietz, Andreas MiesTimea Babos, Kristina Mladenovic
2020Kevin Krawietz, Andreas MiesTimea Babos, Kristina Mladenovic

Most French Open wins:

Who has won the most French Opens? Unsurprisingly, the list is headed by Nadal, that is why he’s known as the King of Clay. But he’s not the only one to have won multiple singles titles.

Rafael Nadal132005,06,07,08,10,11,12,13,14,17,18,19,20
Max Decugis81903,04,07,08,09,12,13,14
Chris Evert71974,75,79,80,83,85,86
Bjorn Borg61974,75,78,79,80,81
Steffi Graf61987,88,93,95,96,99
Suzanne Lenglen61920, 21,22, 23, 25, 26
Henri Cochet51922,26,28,30,32
Adine Masson51897,98,99,1902,03