The PDC’s Order of Merit is the world rankings all darts players want to top, being based on prize money won over a two-year period in ranking tournaments.

As the darts season continues, we’ve profiled the world’s top-five ranked darts players on the PDC Order of Merit 2020 list.

1) Michael van Gerwen 

‘Mighty Mike’ is arguably the greatest darts player since Phil Taylor. He’s been tipped not just to match Taylor’s World Championship tally of 16, but better it.

Van Gerwen has long been making headlines in the darting world. He became the youngest player to win a major tournament after success in the 2006 BDO World Masters. The world was given a glimpse of what the future held in 2007 when he defeated world number one Taylor, and then went on to sink a nine-dart finish against Raymond van Barneveld.

Since then, MVG has dominated the sport and become a household name. He has picked up 55 televised PDC titles, 80 non-televised PDC titles and has even managed an incredible seven televised nine-dart finishes. Van Gerwen also holds the title for the most PDC nine-darters in history.

In 2019, MVG marked his dominance in the sport when he won the Champions League in Leicester. This victory meant that he had won every televised title in the PDC. He endured a surprisingly fallow start to 2020, until he stormed to victory in the UK Open, his third time winning the event. His patchy year has continued but he did win two PDC Summer Series events in July.

2) Peter Wright

Peter ‘Snakebite’ Wright is undoubtedly the most colourful player in the PDC. With his bold outfits and uplifting walk-ons, Wright has become a true fan favourite.

Since making his debut, Wright has won seven televised titles and 25 non-televised PDC titles, reaching the pinnacle of success when beating Van Gerwen to become the world champion in January. He then went on to win the Masters for the first time, making it back-to-back televised titles to complete a glorious start to the year. Since then, he’s also gone on to rack up Players Championship and Summer Series events wins, while claiming the European Championship earlier this month.

3) Gerwyn Price

The ‘Iceman’ is a relatively new face having joined the PDC circuit in 2014. A former professional rugby union player, Gerwyn Price swapped the egg-shaped ball for three arrows.

Price has risen rapidly up the ranks since his debut, collecting two televised and 11 non-televised titles. His first televised major was the 2018 Grand Slam of Darts, which he went on to retain in 2019, while he has shown some great form this year – with triumphs including the World Grand Prix, World Series of Darts and Belgian Darts Championship.

Not shy of showing emotion, Price is known for his fiery temper and big celebrations. He’s had run-ins with other players, but every sport has a ‘villain’. To play against the crowd and still be top rate is quite something, and it’s what Price does every time.

4) Michael Smith

Michael Smith has enjoyed a fruitful career in the PDC thus far and given his talent, he looks sure to enjoy plenty more success. ‘Bully Boy’ is becoming a regular in the latter stages of tournaments and will surely break through at the highest level sooner rather than later

To date, Smith has won two televised and nine non-televised titles, while he also managed his maiden televised nine-darter earlier this year during the Premier League in Dublin.

Smith enjoyed a strong start to 2020, reaching the fifth round of the UK Open and finishing as runner-up in the Masters, as well as second best at the Belgian Darts Championship.

5) Rob Cross

‘Voltage’ set the world alight with his electrifying run in the 2018 World Championship. He beat Taylor in the final to win on his tournament debut after a fantastic year.

In total, Rob Cross has won four televised and five non-televised PDC events, and while he had a steady start to 2020, he suffered early exits in televised majors which have halted his progress slightly. He did, however, reach the final of the World Series of Darts Finals in September and the final of one of the Summer Series events.

At his best, Cross is one of the world’s most deadly players and once he returns to some of his previous form there will be plenty of majors to be won in the future.

Check out all the latest darts betting odds at William Hill